Ballet Talk for Dancers

Inflexable Feet!

GoCoyote!

I'm an adult beginner with feet that have a low instep and low ankles which do not point very well, although they are great going the other way ie I have a very deep plie. With just a couple of years of classes (with many gaps I should add!) they are definately still weak by dance standards as you would expect after so little dance time, for example repeated releves to demi point on one foot tire them out fast!

Anyway, my question is about what I can do and what can be achieved to get them more flexible. To illustrate just how bad they are: using the 'pointy foot test' in my Gretchen Warren, Classical Ballet Technique book, sitting on floor with legs out in front the ###### of my feet do not quite make it to the level of my ankle when feet are pointed...... pathetic I know! - it just seems to be a family trait.

I can see how this is 'unnacceptable' technically speaking as it means you can never quite get ove the ###### of your feet when up on demi point and even the full 'reach' of a tendu is compromised, and it's harder to use the feet to push off the floor in grand battement - I could go on.....

OK so I am an adult beginner rather than aspiring proffessional dancer and if I can't change them then I will still carry on happily doing my thing :D but now I'm back again after an unrelated injury (hit by car) I really want to work my feet and see what can be done to 'pointify' them.... Obviously (ahem) REGULAR, consistant attendance in class, making the most of the barre work, is going to help and has helped a little bit already but I was wondering what else I could concentrate on specifically for this?

By the way, my right foot is worse than the left and it is also the weaker foot. I can't decide if it is the strength in my left foot which allows it to point better or if its increased flexability has made it easier for it to gain strength...

Most grateful for any thoughts/advice :)