Ballet Talk for Dancers

Pointe Work

Guest dancing_girl01

Guest dancing_girl01

any advice will be gratefully accepted...

i have been practicing pointe work for roughly 6 months now and i am (slowly) getting quite good at it. but in the last month i have noticed that my feet are beginning to hurt A LOT when i do it and i also get cramp reguarly. it never used to do this, even at the beginning. i use animal wool at my toes (recommended by my teacher) but i am beginning to worry that i will have to stop doing pointe work because of the pain.

XxX

One of the causes of cramping is an inbalance of calcium and potassium. We deal with it in our house from time to time and snacks have milk and bananas added to them. My girls have found this really helps. Regarding pointe work and pain, we've been dealing with this as well. In our case what used to be a good fit in pointe shoes became the cause of the pain. As feet have developed we've changed shoes many times. Recently my youngest was in the wrong width shoe. Growing bodies and deveoping feet can change a lot and sometimes quite quickly. It's just one of many things it could be. If you haven't talked to your teacher I suggest you do so, a good teacher will hopefully be able to guide you.

[Pssst, Pasdetrois, this is the YOUNG DANCERS 13-16 forum. Parents may view, but should not be heard (except in very rare cases). Only Mr. Johnson, Ms. Leigh and the other teacher-moderators are allowed to give advice.

Thanks, :) ]