Ballet Talk for Dancers

Does anyone have any information on their program? Their faculty and guest faculty seem accomplished, but I haven't heard much about this program. They claim it is a conservatory based program. I was just curious...

• 3 months later...
  • 11 months later...

I am a recent graduate of Towson University. Although I was not a dance major, I could not let my passion for dance keep me away from the department! I got to know the faculty (particularly the ballet faculty) well and was able to take classes and perform. I have many friends who have graduated or are about to graduate from this program so anyone with any questions can feel free to ask. Here's an attempt to give a general overview though:

The program includes two tracks for majors, dance performance and dance education. The dance education major obviously requires more credits since it incorporates the teaching aspect of dance. All majors are required to take ballet and modern technique classes. There are three levels for each discipline and depending upon your performance and improvement in each level, the professor will decide whether or not to move you up to the next level.

The department does offer classes for non-majors in ballet and modern and tap and jazz electives, which any Towson student can take. Majors are required to take choreography classes (Dance Composition), music classes, and a two-part anatomy class specific to the department ("Sci-Bi"): it is a class where students learn about the different bones and muscles pertaining to dance and how they work and how to avoid injury.