Ballet Talk for Dancers

A few questions

Skye90

I'm not very familiar with auditioning at all, because I've never done them before. I'm mainly doing these for the experience, because I barely have a chance of getting in.

For one of the places I'm auditioning for, (The Australian Ballet School) it says they will give you a short physical examination before the class. What will they do in that examination?

About how many students do places generally audition at one time? And what kind of standard are the classes they give? Of course, in America things are probably different. But would they be giving you a really difficult class to see if you can cope, or a simple one to give you the chance to dance your best?

In one of the audition forms, they ask for all the dance subjects you've been trained in, and the hours per week that you've taken in them. I only began contemporary at the beginning of this year (because of money) and realise that contemporary is a big conponent to dance now days. When they see how little I've done, will they be put off, or will they see it from the angle that in a year I've caught-up ok?

I have to take photos to send away with the forms and they don't tell me what colour leotard to wear...so I'm assuming that it doesn't matter too much. But from their point of view, would light or dark be better - and any style in particular?

Not everyone at the audition will have been taught by the same method. So I guess we'll do things differently. Do you just stick to the way you've been taught to do a certain step? (I've been taught the Royal Academy of Dancing.)

This question is just out of curiousity: Do auditioners look at the photos of you before the audition, or only if they decide to take you on?

If someone was offered a place at a pre-pro school, and didn't take it, would they then offer that place to the next best dancer they had seen?

I'm sorry to bombard you with all these questions ...(to which I should probably know the answers).