Ballet Talk for Dancers

Pointe work for beginners over the summer in London?

does anyone know where I could do some pointe work over the summer in London as the class where I do it now won't be running for a while? I am only a beginner so is there anything suitable with enough supervision?

Thanks for any suggestions :angry:

K123, may I ask where you do your normal pointe class. As a returner to pointe I have tried with no sucess to find a adult pointe class.

Tara

There is Susan Zalcman's class at Pineapple on Saturdays.... but is quite pricey

K123, may I ask where you do your normal pointe class. As a returner to pointe I have tried with no sucess to find a adult pointe class.

I do an RAD syllabus class at the London Studio Centre as part of their evening access programme. The syllabus has a small amount of pointe work. Usually about 20 mins each week. I go to a couple of other open classes a week in other places but haven't managed to find anywhere I can do pointe work where I will get enough supervision, so outside the RAD class I only ever do rises and a few things at the barre on my own after a class to try and build up strength, but I don't think it's sensible to just launch into an open class wearing pointe shoes and be left to my own devices.

If you come accross any other classes in your searching, Tara, please let me know.

Is Zalcman's class really specific for beginning pointe? (or re-beginning? I know when I started again, I needed the intense supervision and attention to detail from a teacher who knew me well...).