Ballet Talk for Dancers

Why do they correct the best ones?

l321385

I take class from 5 different teachers. In 4 of them, I get corrected alot on "small" things such as the ring finger being to far up, left shoulder blade being more relaxed , a more relaxed smile, etc...

I LOVE being corrected because that is how I improve. Question is why am I being corrected on "small" things when others can't do the step correctly and aren't being corrected, and I am just missing a small detail.

In the other class, I rarely get corrected at all. I only get ( good job). It is a level wtih 2 mixed levels and I am in the younger one. Only the older ones get corrected basically.

Why doesn't the teacher correct students who are doing badly, instead of helping a student who is doing it well with a little missing.

PS I am kind of new to this "harcore" ballet thing. This would be my first year where I am at the studio about 5 days a week. I love being corrected as I stated before, so this is a question of curiosty.

l321385 your question is one that I am sure quite a few students of ballet have. I know, at times I did, when I was a young student. You say you are new to a five day a week schedule, perhaps you will find that over time, the corrections will even out in the long run.

That being said, sometimes students do not know what they look like when they take a class. I am saying this because often students will be concentrating so hard that their eyes and faces can look blank. Some students can even look disinterested. Generally none of this is done on purpose, but students do need to look interested in what is going on in a class.