Ballet Talk for Dancers

Gym culture shock

Sakura

I used to be a gym member for a while (for the aerobics classes) but I didn't renew my membership after it lapsed so I haven't been in one for years.

I just went for a trial because I want to flatten my tum but it was an alienating experience. I wanted to attend a beginner jazz class(I've never tried jazz before) and I got there early so I walked around to inspect the facilities. They tried to hard-sell but I'm pretty thick-skinned so I walked away. It was seriously claustrophobic...all I could see were rows of gleaming steel, harsh lighting and joyless sweaty men and women working out. It didn't look enjoyable and people were busy distracting themselves with tv and music. I felt as though the people were mice running in a wheel. I don't like the smell of sweat either or barefoot women walking around in towels in the locker room.