Ballet Talk for Dancers

Finger pirouettes?

ami1436

So in rehearsal on Saturday I was told to do a finger pirouette with my partner. I've never done these before, and had a quick 30 second lesson on them, but 2 and 2 are not coming together in my mind.

It's the usual prep - en pointe, holding one of his fingers above my head, other arm in second, hand in hand. Developpe croise devant, rond de jambe to seconde, and into retire for the pirouette. I was told that he's supposed to 'stir' me to get me to turn? I'm so not getting it!

I'm guessing that I need to somehow lock my arm/shoulder for this to work? Any pointers would be very welcomed!

• Administrators

You need to use your left arm and push off of his hand, at the same time you are pushing up with your top arm as he is pushing down against you. The force is gathered from the push off and the fouetté action of the leg. No "stirring" should be needed and really cannot be done unless you push off and then let go of his finger so that he has two hands to work with, however, I find that it never looks good when one can see the male dancer actually turning the female dancer. She needs to do her own turn, remain centered and focused, and his hands are there to help keep her centered and to stop her in the right place. If the turn remains a finger turn, in that you do not let go, then I don't understand how any "stirring" could be done.

Thanks!

Yes, I am pushing off with the left hand, and this way can very reasonably do a double.

The instructing meant stirring with his finger - as in not using his hands on my waist to get me around, but using a slight motion with his hand above my head to get me around more times?

:D

Somehow, it doesn't seem right to me. I've seen these done with many revolutions, but I always thought it was more the girl than the guy?

Ami

• Administrators

Don't like the "stirring" idea at all. :D I don't see any way to do that without it being VERY obvious.