Ballet Talk for Dancers

FREAKING OUT!!!

kasaba

I can't sleep. My 5th grade students' Christmas concert is next Tuesday (I'm a music teacher), and they are SSSSOOOOOOOOOOO not ready!!! :o People don't know their lines . . . one of the (4) teachers hasn't practiced singing the songs, so her kids don't know the words . . . All of the kids talk CONSTANTLY despite death threats from me & other teachers :wub: I can't seem to get any half-time entertainment lined up . . . and the teacher who's supposed to do the set is at home with a kidney stone :speechless:

The one bright spot is the dancers. I need to write a thank you letter to Emmitt Smith: this is the first time in recorded history that 10-year-old BOYS have begged me to: a) ballroom dance, :shrug: with girls, c) on a stage in front of their parents, d) in red sequined vests and bow ties! :thumbsup:

(PS can you tell I'm a little emotional here?)

I feel your pain! I teach fourth graders (science).

Speaking to the chattiness problem -- this seems to be endemic these days. It's a problem in my classes (five total), and also at another school whose teachers I join for a learning group. Something we all have to work on, I guess. Let me know what works for you!

What used to work for the kids in my classes when I was little was detention- the thought of staying in school when everyone else was done was a huge deterrent. My teacher would give a general warning at the beginning of the school day and after lunch- if you didn't heed it, you stayed. It didn't take long before quiet was the norm. Besides, they could learn the lyrics during the detention period and that kills another problem, at least for those kids.