Ballet Talk for Dancers

Most important time in a male's training

Curtis

Hi I am Curtis and I am 15 years old. I have been dancing for 10 years now and I aspire to do it professionally. I began dancing in my hometown of New Orleans, Louisiana with the New Orleans Ballet Association and the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts, which was intense rigourous 6-7 days a week classes with great performance opportunities. But now, I am attending Phillips Exeter Academy, which is a boarding prep school in New Hampshire. While academically this school is amazing and I feel as though I'll be ready for anything academically in the future, the dancing isn't as tough and intense as I'm use to in New Orleans. I do plan on majoring in dance in college, and dancing as a career,but I'm worried that I won't be able to keep up as a dancer after this so I was wondering if you guys had any tips on how I can just keep up for these four years before college.

Thanks,

Curtis

Another challenging question! :wacko:

My advice to you would be to have you find the most excellent training available to you in your area, and then season with occasional trips to schools outside your regular commuting distance for really demanding training, as at Boston Ballet, or Bossov Ballet in Maine. Certainly there are others sure to be mentioned here, but those leapt immediately to mind as good choices for a young male dancer. The courseload at Exeter looks like it's designed for people with only a rudimentary background in ballet, and who are using the school experience to become more involved with their art(s). I think you need more than what is offered there. Look around and see what the nearby opportunities are.

I would contact Susan Endrizzi at the Portsmouth School of Ballet: http://psb-nh.com/instructors.php She is an exceptional teacher, and should at least be able to give some guidance.