Ballet Talk for Dancers

Not Enough Classes?

dancing_suki

Hi

Sorry if this post is in the wrong place....

Anyway, many of the people posting here have been saying that they take hours of classes a week. I am 15 years old and have been dancing since I was 12. I am currently studying RAD Intermediate and have just sat my BATD Grade 4. I only have 2 classes per week, 1 in RAD and 1 in BATD. The total class time I have is 2 hours- 75 minutes for RAD and 45 minutes for BATD. I started doing pointe work in October. I want to become a professional and am willing to workhard to get there but the schools in the UK don't tend to have many classes to take. Is this really not giving me any choice at all? I was going to audition for some English ballet schools (I live in Scotland, UK) in the coming year so I would be just 17 when I start there if I got in but would this be too late? I am also going to audition for the senior associates at Scottish Ballet so would have 3 extra hours of dance per week but would still not be enough I think.......If anyone knows of any ballet schools near Glasgow in Scotland it would be a help because I take all of the classes I can from the schools I go to. I could maybe take another RAD class but where I go is really expensive so my parents couldn't really afford it. Anyway sorry for all of the questions and if someone has any answers they would be greatly appreciated.

• Administrators

Hello dancing suki, welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers :wink: