Ballet Talk for Dancers

RAD Info for us oldies

Sakura

I'm posting their reply here as a service to other oldsters:

My questions:

Hello, I am studying RAD syllabus and have a few questions. For the higher Grades 6, 7, 8, are there prerequisites? For example, is it possible to take Grade 8 without taking 6 or 7? Or 7 without taking 6?

I am over the age of 25 but would like to sit for my Intermediate exam. Are there any accommodations for mature candidates such as omission of pointework or do mature candidates have to fulfill exactly the same requirements as young dancers?

Their reply:

With regards to the Grades, you are able to enter for Grade 8 without having achieved a previous Grade. However, if in order to attain Student Membership it is a requirement to have achieved Grade 6, 7 and 8.

All candidates are assessed against the same criteria, however, it is possible for candidates to accumulate enough points to achieve the Intermediate exam without demonstrating the Pointe work. A mark of 0 would be given if the Pointe work was not shown.

I hope that this information assists you.

I think I would still take all my higher grades. As for Intermediate, I haven't looked at the marking scheme in detail but surely it would be very difficult to pass if you got zero in one section?

Can those familiar with the Intermediate marking scheme enlighten me?

Sakura

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Hamorah

• Dance_Scholar_London

• CDR

• Jetrouve

There are 10 sections, each worth 10 credits. In total, you must accumulate 40 credits to pass. I think, from Adv onwards, you have to pass each section to get an overall pass, but this does not apply to Inter (please double check with RAD).

I would not worry about the pointe section at Inter level. It is really basic, and with some training, I am sure you can achieve a satisfactory grade for pointe.