Ballet Talk for Dancers
Dance_Scholar_London

Books: Pointe Shoes,Tips and Tricks

Dance_Scholar_London

I have seen the German (original) edition of it, and found it very useful, especially the tips on "tuning" the shoes. It will come out in English in 2007. Here is the Link. There are also plans to translate it into Spanish and French.

greyhound

You can go to Babel Fish, put in the web address & choose German to English to view the website in English.

NutsaboutBallet

You ROCK, Dance Scholar! I definetly book marked that one!!!

Dance_Scholar_London

You are welcome.

Angela Reinhardt also offers seminars/workshops on pointe shoe fitting. I have no personal experience yet, but I would love to attend one. I believe she is located in Berlin, Germany. I will feed back if I have any news; I am travelling to Berlin next weekend for a dance psychology workshop.

Clara 76

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, Robi!! :clapping:

Please introduce yourself on our Welcome Forum, so our lovely welcome Lady can officially welcome you. :)

If you're a director of a ballet company, we have some forums that might interest you:

Arts Administration

The Pro Shop

About Professional Dancers and Companies

and of course, our sister board, Ballet Talk, that you may access from the link in the upper right-hand corner.

Please join in on discussions! :o

lampwick

LOL!!! I've heard the stitching pictured on those shoes referred to as "Frankensteining" It's a cheap, easy way of getting rid of excess bagginess and taking the sides down, without an expensive custom order. I've seen that make a huge difference on feet that are actually just so-so.

Those shoes have every possible thing done to them. I'm curious about the purpose of the slit under the drawstring casing to "lace" the ribbons through, though.