Ballet Talk for Dancers

strengthening on pointe

nzdancer

i have been cast (well, assigned is a better word) in a small performance. One woman was reassigned, and I joined the class just when she left, so I am taking her role. Here is the problem: the piece is an old Kirov bit of choreography, and has the dreaded eschappe, passe, eschappe, passe, and then 4 passes combination that repeats several times. We are all in a circle, and rotating while doing this. I am a relatively new pointe student, and informed my teacher that I hadn't actually gotten off the barre on pointe yet. She assured me this was not a problem, and spent quite a lot of time with me to strengthen my feet, etc. All is going relatively well EXCEPT for this part. I am terrified of the passes! The eschappes are fine, but I am scared of the passe parts. It doesn't help that this occurs near then end of the 10 minute piece, and I am already tired.

I am working on them at the barre, but I wanted to see if you had any other suggestions, or if there were some additional exercises that might help. Do I just need to work on the strength and stamina of the leg muscles, and if so, would releves in coupe at home help? I still have a month to get this, but I am getting nervous about it. Any suggestions or advice is much appreciated!

When I had to do that choreography what worked for me was practice to build stamina. However, I was also not a beginner.

I guess you will have to have faith in your teacher that she will not allow you to go on stage unstable. The other thing you will have to conquer is your mindset; you are discovering that there are more things that go into being a dancer than just spectacular technique :(

Guest ingve

Hi there,

you will need to take the time to help you.

It sounds like both you and your teacher is working consentrated to reach your goal.

Do not get terrified, continue working, and week by week you will see and feel the difference.

Ingve