Ballet Talk for Dancers

Learning a Classical Ballet Repertoire

jungyooni85

:thumbsup: HI! Nice to meet everybody. I'm new on thie board :D

I'm a 22 years old adult ballet student.

I've been taking ballet almost for 2 years so far, and pointe for 1 year.

I'm taking about 1~ 3 technique classes, and 2 pointe classes a week.

(It depends the schedule, because I'm a college student..)

I don't know other adult ballet sudents feel the same thing,

but I really want to learn a real ballet repertoire!

I'm not going to enter a competition or perform on a stage,

but I would love to learn it. Ballet for ballet sake! :)

Do you think this is a silly idea?

Do you think if I tell my ballet teacher that I'd love to dance a classical repertorie,

she will give a lesson?

IF you think so, how much do you think she'll charge me?

I'm a college student in New York City, so I can't afford if it's too much...

I just love classical ballet so much!

I hope there is somebody feel the same way as I do.

Thank you !

Edited by jungyooni85

Welcome to BT4D, jungyooni. You'll find quite a few NYC adult dancers here.

In one of my classes, we're learning bits of repertoire as part of our centre practice -- yesterday it was sections from Swanhilda's Act II solos from Coppelia. Maybe your teacher can give you sections of repertoire as part of your normal class?

• Administrators

Hello jungyooni85, welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers :thumbsup:

It's wonderful that you have started ballet and that you really love it! Sounds like you have made very rapid progress, since you are on pointe after training for such a short time, but I am concerned that you are not regular and consistent with at least 3 technique classes per week. The technique classes are of primry importance. The pointe classes are not. So, if you are limited, it's more important to take the technique classes.