Ballet Talk for Dancers

When?

camilla_marchant_3

If somebody has been training since they were very young, say 3 or 4, when is the best time to start pointe? I have been training for 12 years and have only been allowed to go on pointe a year ago! I found that, though I had a certain amout of strength just from normal ballet classes, I didn't have the stamina to remain on pointe for long. Also, becasue I was so old when I finally went on pointe I suddenly was expected to do up to 5 hours of pointe at a time without complaint! I found this hard work and that it blistered my skin, something that perhaps could have been prevented had I hardened the skin slowly by gradually increasing the amout of pointe work that I did. Anyway, what's done is done. I just wonderd whether anybody had any tips for my specific problem. How should I harden the skin on my feet?...Strengthen my ankles?...Increase the flexibilty of my ankle an foot? ..Get better at pointe work?

Edited by camilla_marchant_3

sorry if i'm not allowed to post here.

My teacher had me put rubbing alcohol on my feet after i shower and before and after pointe to dry out the skin. that worked for me (plus the rubbing alcohol heals blisters i can get them completly gone in 3 days max)

TutuPrincess,

Yes, you are allowed to post here, but only after a moderator has posted. Anyone is allowed to ask questions of course.

Since this question is mostly about technique and not about pointe shoes, I am moving it to the appropriate forum.

I think it really depends on the person for the right time to go onto pointe. I have always had really strong ankles so I went on pointe a little earlier, but my freind, who is the same age as me, went on pointe a year after me.