Ballet Talk for Dancers

Musicality

Guest Enterprisecdr

Guest Enterprisecdr

I hope this is in the right spot...

Anyways, I've taken piano since I was 4 years old (I am 16 now, and starting lessons on how to play the harp!I was a pianist before a dancer, and I still take piano twice a week.) But I was wondering, how much of a help is musicality to dancers, the audience, and especially teachers when teaching a class or watching a performance? Is it easier to teach combinations? Easier to choreograph? Easier to see misktakes? etc...

I find that now I learn dances/combinations better and easier both when I hear the music and when I count the counts. I've also noticed that the allegro combinations come easier when I've heard the counts, not the music. Is this totally unusual?

Just wondering...

-Kat smile.giffrown.gif

It's not at all unusual, Kat. You've just cited the reasons why many full-time academies REQUIRE music, whether as performance or theory, or both.

• Administrators

I wish ALL serious ballet students had music training! And yes, Kat, it is absolutely and positively a major help (actually almost a necessity, I think) for teachers and choreographers! However, there are some people who have such a good natural sense of musicality that, even without training, they are able to dance, choreograph, and to teach very well too.

Guest Colleen

I find it a difficult thing to teach combinations to younger students who cannot 'hear' the music and the counts within it. As someone who took piano from the age of 4 and continued until I finished my gr.8 Royal Conservatory of Music exam, that type of thing is second nature to me. But to others it is really like a foreign language and I find those students have a great deal more difficulty getting unusual or more difficult combinations than their counterparts who can mentally equate steps with the music or the counts.

• Administrators