Ballet Talk for Dancers

couple issues

shea

I have two questions that I was wondering if you all could help me out with. I am 23 and just started ballet this summer.

Question 1: My plie is so shallow becuase my achilles is so tight. My left is tighter than my right and I was wondering how I could stretch these tendons so that I can go deeper? Is there anything else I can do to help my plies?

Question 2: Because I am so new I am afraid to dance my heart out. I am afraid that I will screw up and look like an idiot becase I am putting my all into whatever I am doing at that point. How can I gain confidence and not be scared to try my hardest? I almsot feel like because I am a beginner I shouldn't try and dance like I am not a beginner. Is that weird?

Edited by shea
Guest ingve

Hi,

The problem of a thight achillesis quite an issue. You have to know that you should only stretche the muscles around the achilles, in your calv etc. Do not try to stretch the tendon itself, it does not work like a muscle! But with patience and intending to work the plié you have completely out, and it will improve :)

It is normal to be shy in the beginning when you do something new, this shyness will leave you with time. It is not easy to "dance your heart out" just like that after you start dancing in a new style.

Cheers.

Tight calf muscles are relatively easy to stretch. Do a yoga "downward dog", trying to let the heels touch the floor (obviousy, they wont be anywhere near there yet if you are tight). Bend one leg in at a time, so that all the weight goes on the other foot, and relax as much as you can. Change sides over every so often.

Jim.

Shea, just doing the pliés will help, and as others have said -- stretching -- carefully and slowly (don't bounce it!).