Ballet Talk for Dancers

What to do when you begin to question your dancing?

tutu

I'm a 17yo dance student, and I don't know whether this question fits into this forum, but it seems like a good place to ask.

When is being weak in class too much to overcome? I'm not talking about improper or incorrect technique. I guess I'm talking about things that some might consider more in the "tricks" category.

I've been told that I've got "potential" (i.e. body type). I've been accepted into selective summer programs, some on scholarship, for the past several years and was accepted for winter programs at two selective schools. I'll be attending a program at a school of a major company next year.

I've had clean training, but I'm missing a lot of the strength that I see in summer program peers (esp. CPYB students and students from schools of major companies). By strength, I mean I lack, for example, consistent clean multiple attitude and a la seconde turns etc.- and these peers' overall strength and consistency in general. I feel that if I had attended a bigger school in the past (hindsight always being 20/20), I would be at a comparable level to them now.

Can I expect to gain that type of strength at this point? Or is it too late now to play "catch up"? (I'll work my hardest this year either way :) I just want to have a realistic view of what's possible)

Edited by tutu

tutu-I moved your post here. You had placed it on the Parent's forum. I think it will be better served on this forum so our teachers and other dancers in your age group can answer you.

Tutu, you've come to one of the many "crunch" times in a dancer's career. Now that you're 17, you mostly stop having "potential" and have to start delivering the real article. pirouettes in open positions are very difficult, and always need work, even after you're in an entry-level professional job. Keep working hard, make sure that you're getting the BEST training available to you and press on!

• Administrators