Ballet Talk for Dancers to close ×
Ballet Talk for Dancers

Auditions: Gap years

Balletgrl4evr

I will be 18 in September. I was in the top level(Advanced/ Pre-Professional division) of the Miami City Ballet School last year. I didn't audition for too many companies this year, but I did not recieve contracts with the ones I did audition for. I am seriously starting to doubt my abilities as a dancer. I'm smart, I graduated high school at 16. Maybe I should just quit and go to college??? All of my friends just graduated high school and they are going to these amazing colleges. Is it bad that I'm jealous? That some part of me wishes I didn't graduate early to dance...and that maybe I would be going to an amazing college too??? [...] Even when I am dancing I take 2 or 3 college classes, but I am Pre-Med, so it is difficult to spread my focus too thin. I know I am a good dancer, but I'm not great, and I will never be amazing. I don't want to make my mom keep paying more and more money to train at the top schools for something that may never happen. Does anybody have any thoughts? I want to dance...I do. I just don't know if I can keep waiting to get a contract...

xoxo

-Balletgrl4evr

Edited by Moderator to remove height & weight details, as per Ballet Talk for Dancers policy.

Edited by Redbookish

More and more young workers in the US in all sorts of fields are starting to incorporate "gap years" in their career plans. (You're doing one now!) These years are most conveniently timed between high school and university, or between university and the serious beginning of fulltime work, or both. I recommend that you consider this option while planning your future. 18 is still a little young to have a declared major already, so keep your mind open. (That's open, not vacant!) In the meantime, audition like crazy - I believe that for the great majority of dancers, dance first, university next is the best plan.