Ballet Talk for Dancers

more expressive?

balletdaughter

One of my daughter's ballet teachers said she wanted my daughter to be "more expressive." The teacher wasn't any more specific than that. My daughter thinks she probably meant in her facial expression. My daughter's usually concentrating hard on what her feet and arms are doing and that often is showing in her face. Is there anything in particular that you can think of to help her become more relaxed and expressive? Thanks.

Well, first of all I think the teacher should be more specific and also do exercises during classtime to foster "expressiveness." My own daughter, who is only 4 is very expressive, and I chalk it up to the fact that I "dance" around the house all the time. Really I just move to the music and do lots of arm movements or spinning, etc. I get away with it since I'm a ballet teacher and my husband expects to see such shinnanigans! Anyway, I think it's really helped her to see me move to the music the way the music makes me feel at that time.

The ballet teacher can do things in class to help with that--I have the students dance with scarves, or I have them practice their recital dance as different "characters." eg. "Girls, do the dance again but this time pretend you're a gnarly wicked witch." or "Girls do the dance again but pretend you're a beautiful princess." And then I give them concrete examples of how a witch might dance or what the qualities of a princess are. Telling a dancer to be more expressive without clear directions on how to do it is like telling a musician to be more expressive without teaching what a crescendo or decrescendo is. It doesn't really mean anything.