Ballet Talk for Dancers

Just wanted to say hello!

Airyfairy76

I've been looking at these boards for a little while and just wanted to delurk and say hello.

Yet another figure skater here - well, ice dancer to be precise!! Living in London, England.

However, I attended one of the main vocational ballet schools in England, from ages 11-16, upon which I decided not to pursue a dance career.

16 years later . . . and the time has come to put on my ballet shoes again! So I am off to my first ballet class in YEARS this evening, after work, and really looking forward to it . . although a little apprehensive!

I am going to start in the absolute beginners class (it is an open class, so just have to turn up) so my muscles aren't traumatised into complete shock! The muscles used in figure skating are somewhat different, and where my arabesque is still quite respectable from doing similar movements on ice, things like developpes to the front and side are somewhat more difficult! After a couple of weeks adapting, I'll reassess where I need to be, level wise. Although we did mostly free work, we did do syllabus once or twice a week, and the last I remember doing was RAD Advanced.

I did have quite a lot of fun buying new ballet gear the other day - but gosh, I know now why my parents complained so much about the cost!! I have gone for the traditional black leotard and pink tights, as after my training earlier in life, I cannot face the thought of wearing baggy clothes. However, as I am not quite so confident as I used to be, I have gone for some Sansha knitted black warmups for my legs, that fold over at the waist :)

Ballet shoes have been a bit of a revelation as well - of course at school, we converted all our pointe shoes into every day practice shoes. Having just bought some Grishko Performance (which I LOVE!), my feet feel quite naked! Particularly in comparison to the figure skates that I wear 3-4 times a week!

Anyway, enough rabbiting on - and hello!