Ballet Talk for Dancers

Frustrated- I know I could do it if I were taught!

je danse dans ma tete

I've been dancing for about 2 years now, only 2-3 times per week. I work hard, learn quickly, and people are always surprised when they discover that I come from a non-dancing background.

My problem is that in more advanced classes, there will sometimes be combinations with steps that I have never seen. Simple steps that other people learned in the elementary grades of ballet as young children.

Sometimes I can approximate the step and ask someone after class. Sometimes it is quick and I just have to fake it or drop out of the combination and mark it on the side because I don't want to cause a collision.