Ballet Talk for Dancers

ballerina flexibility for gymnasts?

uggymnast

Hello,

I am new to ballet talk for dancers. I took ballet from age 3 to about 10 and was pre pointe. Then i decided i was tired of it and switched to gymnastics. I am now an optional gymnast which is like very intensive 5-6 days a week 20+ hours. My past season (state is this weekend) has been plauged with injuries to both ankles and a fractured back, but i now healed. At the begining of last summer i only had my good leg split to 180 but in two weeks with hypersplits after practice i now have left and right leg all the way down but am about 3 inches off of my middles. Many gyms train ballet along with gymnastics becuase of the artistry in the sport, but mine unfortunatly doesn't . my routines have alot of ballet realted moves rather than modern "dance" idk... its like Nastia Liukin style vs Shawn Johnson. Nastia has these long and elegant lines with lots of ballet and shawn is a short, power-packed fireplug with explosive moves. So, my question is " can i achieve ballerina like flexibility through other stretches, ie other than hyper splits. They have gotten my leaps better, like i have 180 leaps and switch leaps, but they aren't like nastia's or are anywhere close to a ballerinas. My jumps, like split and straddles are gross. its like i couldn't hold my legs in 180 in the air , only when there is gravity pulling down on me like on the floor. What do you guys to in ballet to achive those gorgeous leaps and jumps? here is video of the flexility i am talking about.... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ro3WrBBWTY8

this is from the progressive skating and gymnastics show. just watch the dance... also here is some of here gymnastics, like her floor routine.

the dance is amazing, the grace , the poise, ahhh just like a ballerina.

Edited by uggymnast
  • Administrators

Hello uggygymnast, welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers :D