Ballet Talk for Dancers

Old wounds reopened

jsan379

This may be a little rant-ish…..moderators please remove if not appropriate.

Ok, so I’ve been dancing for just about 4 years now (this June). Not a very long time at all but I LOVE ballet. It’s awesome, it’s hard work, I have a LOT to learn still, and I’m so glad I get to do it. I’ve even been lucky enough to actually be in a few performances. Never thought that’d happen!!

But I need help with something. Apparently I really pissed off the first director I worked with. So much so, that after almost four years I have to deal with it all over again.

Back in 2005 I auditioned for her after taking ballet for only 3 months. I was terrible, but she took me anyway. I was thrilled and I worked very hard and was proud of the work I did. During those rehearsals my regular ballet teacher asked me if I could dance with her group…they needed guys. So, naturally I jumped on that opportunity too. I didn’t think anything of it. I was on such a high, rehearsing for TWO shows, until I walked directly into some drama.

I thought it was because the director of the first show (Director A) didn’t like that I was in my teacher’s show (Director B ) ... (Which I now know is a big no-no). Either way, when it came time to audition for Director A’s next show, I couldn’t go as it was the same day as the show with Director B and so that was that. Even though I had such an awesome time in my first ever dance performance, Director A was done with me. I felt awful but that’s life, and sometimes and you’ve got to move on.