Ballet Talk for Dancers

Problem with developpes

ccharlotts

I'm having some major problems with my developpes to the front and side. I can life my leg only to 90 degrees when we're doing developpes front and side, but to the back I can do an arabesque easily over 90 degrees. I'm fairly flexible and when I lift my leg with my hand to the side (I'm not sure what it is called), I can reach about 160 degrees. Also when doing grand battements I get my leg way over 90 degrees. I can hold my leg on the sad-looking 90 degrees for a long time, so I'm not sure if its about strength.

I went to a dance specialized physiotherapist, who was also quite puzzled why I couldn't lift my leg higher. He said that I could work on the back of my thighs and gave me some stretches. I've been doing them for 6 months now but I haven't noticed any difference. In my opinion I should see some improvement in 6 months. Could it be because of my flexibility, although I can get my leg up to 160 degrees if I help it with my hand? Or is that even high?

I'm getting really frustrated with this problem. I hate doing developpes and feel ashamed, because all my classmates get their legs high up. I practice the lifts at home almost every day, but nothing changes. My teacher is very keen on developpes and insists thatt everybody has to get legs higher than 90 degrees. According to her 110 is the minimum. I feel pressure to get the leg up but I just can't. My teacher really doesn't understand what is my problem and we regularly have these "contests" at classes when everybody has to get their leg at least 5 inches higher than the person infront of them gets.