Ballet Talk for Dancers

Thrifty ballet tips anyone?

Xena

Being a student I am always on the look out for ways to save money....one day I'll have a proper job!

So any ideas about any money saving ideas for ballet like dancewear especially?

For example, I was wondering does anyone have any tips on turning old clothes/worn tights/old leotrads into something you could wear to dance? I have tonnes of old T-shirts, and I've seen some professional dancers wearing things that look like old t-shirts/or other forms of clothing that I am unable to identify, but they've been cut or sewn in ways that I don't know to make them look more dancey. I just don't want to spend loads on new dancewear if I can turn old things into wearable things.

Thanks

Jeanette xx:D :D

Guest Aurelie

I don't know where you live but there is a dance store in california that sells everything for $10 or less. tights are $3. If you can't get to the store they also have a website. www.dannyswarehouse.com. I'm not sure where they deliver to. Their store in in Culver city.

Aurelie

My calves are really tight and I was desperate to find some wool legwarmers. That useless pair of hicking socks in my drawer finally found a new purpose. I hacked off the toes and now I have a nice pair of wool warmers. Claves get nice and toasty warm.

Guest beckster

I bought a pair of wool tights from primark (betcha miss that shop, jeanette) and cut off the toes and made a hole in the heel. Bingo, tights to wear over my normal ballet stuff on those freezing cold mornings. They were actually kids tights (advantage of being a short person) and cost about £2. Of course the minute I made them, my teacher started remembering to leave the heating on, and now the weather is warmer. Nevermind, I'll save them for next year!

Of course, the best thing to do is to learn to sew and knit. Then you can probably make all kinds of bargain dancewear.

Guest marvelous