Ballet Talk for Dancers

Shoe Question

AerBear

This may be better suited in the pointe forum, but figured I would ask here for now (please feel free to move if necessary). As an adult student, I only take pointe one day a week. I am new to it so not sure what to expect. How long should my pointes last me? Also, I've read in other places that our shoe experts have recommended alternating pairs: Would this apply for me only doing pointe one day a week, or would this be more for those doing it 3 or 4 times a week?

Also, I've read about people cutting out the satin on the tips of the block (i'm assuming to make it less slipery?). Is this something that everyone does, or is it for a certain shoe/certain floor that the studio has?

Sorry, lots of questions here! Just want to make sure I'm doing everything correctly. Any advice?

thanks! :rolleyes:

In my own brief experience with pointe, it seems the life of a shoe depends a lot on the brand of shoe, how much dancing you do on it, and perhaps even how "hard" you are on the shoe. I have a pair of Russian Pointes that are still going strong after 20+ hours of wear, but then, I am at a beginning/intermediate level. Maybe someone who is advanced would wear out the shoes much faster? I recently started wearing a new pair to break them in, and planned to either alternate shoes, or just wear the old ones until they "die." I'm only on pointe one day per week, outside of home practice.

I have not cut off the satin from the platforms, and none of my teachers have told me to do so (yet).