Ballet Talk for Dancers

Basic Ballet Warm-ups

ballerina_Diva

Hi Everyone,

Where can I find a website that shows basic ballet warm-ups that I can teach to a group of non-experienced ladies? Also, what are some good arm warm-ups in ballet?

Thanks

Edited by ballerina_Diva
  • Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Victoria Leigh

• Clara 76

• ami1436

• ballerina_Diva

• Administrators

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, ballerina_Diva. I'm not quite sure where to move this post, but the Teachers Forum is strictly for experienced teachers. I'm not sure of your age category, but I will assume that you are at least 17, right? I would normally put it in YD 17-22, but, I think you will get more help in the Adult Students Forum, since this is the age group that you will be starting with.

In terms of "ballet warm-ups", I'm not sure what you mean. Are the students there to learn ballet, or are they there for an exercise class? If they are total beginners, starting with some floor exercises would be a good idea. Start by teaching them how to sit straight, so that hopefully you can translate that posture into standing when the time comes. Teach them how to point and flex their feet, and how to rotate their legs from the hips. Gentle hamstring stretches are good, too. After that, I would assume that you go to a bit more basic ballet barre exercises, starting with alignment, balance point, control zone in parallel and then in first position. Then teach them how to point their feet, and then tendu.

Arm warm ups? No clue what you mean there.

Thanks Victoria,