Ballet Talk for Dancers

Teaching: I want to be a balletteacher

Claude_Catastrophique

I hope this is the right place for this subject, if not, feel free to move!

Like you all may know, I am teaching since about a year in my school the classes for teens and adults, because my teacher had a surgery and complications and no the 6-8 weeks I should have run the school for her is now coming close to one year.

I really enjoy working with the students there and they obviously seem to like my classes (at least no one left the school and I gained some new students). I had to give up the dream of becoming a professional dancer and I never could imagine to become a balletteacher but now this is more and more an option for me. I studied law and I know that I do not want to work fully on that job, I need something creative to do besides law.

Now I was looking around for an education for teachers and it is really difficult to find something. I have found two options which would be realistic for me and which I could pay. My main problem is, that I do not have done a professional school and I have no certification or exams (like RAD or so) but I can look back on 20 years experience in classical ballet, some modern and some other dance styles. Therefore I had to find something where people are taken without a professional training and where people in my age (24) are taken.

However, I found two options, as I said before and now I have no idea how I should decided (or if I should do it at all) and I hope that someone here could help me a bit. I still need to talk to my teacher(s) about it (they know me the best so I will for sure ask the for adivce).