Ballet Talk for Dancers

performance fees

tangerinetwist

I have been teaching for many years, and have had my six year old in creative movement classes for the last few years. I recently changed jobs and moved my daughter to the new school. I am curious as to what other parents of young students are paying these days for costumes and recital fees? This is not to start any type of debate, if you could just share the price range of costume fees(perhaps you have a very young child who wears children's sizes and another who is in the adult size range) and if your school charges a recital fee, what that fee is?

Thank you.

At DD's studio there are no costume fees - costumes are borrowed, not purchased (dancers provide their own shoes, tights, leotards, etc.). Performance fees range from about $70-$200 depending on casting. Youngest dancers with just one small part would pay the least.

DD is 12 and at her studio it depends on whether it is the Nutcracker or the year-end performance. DD would now be considered in the adult sizes. For the Nutcracker, they pay a fee of $60 per role. This covers the cost of the costumes which are basically rented from the studio, the costume cleaning, etc.

For the year-end performance, the kids pay for the costumes (and get to keep them) if they are younger and in basically only one part. We've paid anywhere from $60-$120. Once they start to have more than one part, they rent the costumes (again from the studio) and the cost can range from $25-$45 per role. It does depend on the costume that is being rented, though, and I am sure the rental is higher for some of the more elaborate costumes. Since the older girls have so many parts in the performance, it is a kind consideration to the parents that they can rent the costumes. Otherwise, parents wouldn't be able to afford for their kids to be in the performance with the cost of tickets, etc.