Ballet Talk for Dancers

Music: Ballet Class for 12-16 year olds

I'm going to be teaching for the first time and I was wondering if anyone has any favourite music for class exercises. They are ages 12-16. I would prefer music that is simple and somewhat easy to make excercises to as it's my first time teaching.

• Administrators

dancerxox44, it's really easy to find ballet class CD's. You can even download them to an iPod from iTunes. :(

Amazon has a lot of them too. Look for albums with David Howard's name on them, or the Behind Barres series of albums, anything with Steven Mitchell as the pianist and lots and lots of other good ones. Years ago ballet class albums were not good, but now they are very good, especially the ones I mentioned. All of the music is specifically arranged for ballet exercises.

If you go to Amazon, please go there by clicking on our link at the top of every page on this board. Every little bit helps us in terms of paying for the board. :thumbsup:

Guest pas quoi

I'll add that if you like music with a Russian "feel' to it, try any of Dmitri Roudnev's cd's. They are also available from Amazon.com, so be sure to click the link Ms. Leigh cited in her post above. They have rather short bands, which may or may not be what you are looking for. If you go to "Roper Records" (just put that name in your search bar and you'll get there) you will find a few cd's by Alla Reznick. Her cd's are very very easy to use, and have a Russian/character feel to them. You cannot order directly on-line from this site, however. You must still call an order in, or download the order form, fill it out, enclose a check and mail it. When I do purchase something from Roper Records, I call the company. I receive my order very quickly if the cd's I want are in stock. :(

• Administrators

Pas quoi, I bought a couple of those Roudnev CD's a few years ago, and cannot use them. The bands are just way too short.

Guest pas quoi