Ballet Talk for Dancers

height

Guest Anna

hi,

i have been dancing for 14 years now and really want to work as a professional dancer when i finish all my training- in about 3 years. Although i study ballet, i do not want to become a pro ballet dancer as i am 5ft10-5ft11 ins tall. do you think that i am too tall to go into other areas of dance- or do u think my height will help me stand out if my technique is right?

i'd like to hear other dancers opinions- my teacher says that it can work to both my advantage and dissadvantage!

thanx

Anna

• Administrators

I think it can definitely work to your advantage if your technique is strong and you know how to USE that wonderful height! Tall people who stand and move well and are proud of their height are, IMO, very beautiful! :) It is important to be a very strong dancer, though, as you probably will need to be featured rather than in a group. What kind of performing are you hoping to do? Musical Theatre perhaps? Do you sing? By the way, it is not unheard of for a female ballet dancer to be 5'10 or 11. Again, they must be exceptional, but, it can happen. There is a gorgeous dancer in PNB who is, I've heard, very close to 6' tall! She is a principal dancer there.

hi, thanx for your reply!i am hoping to go into musical theatre- i sing and act but my dancing is definately my strongest area. i'm glad that your reply was positive- i feel better now. i can't think of any dancers that i know of who are tall- but it is good to know that they are out there!!

Anna

Guest DaNzMaNiAc123

i think it would also be hardish for a 5"1 person to be a pro dancer also? How many short dancers are there already in ballet?

Guest Portia