Ballet Talk for Dancers

How to cut costs on dancewear:

Ginniathezinnia

I hope this is alright to post, as I didn't see any stickies that already said anything about it, but I was just thinking how a lot of beginners don't know where to buy their dance shoes for the best price, and sometimes end up spending a lot of money that they needed to save.

So, I've been dancing for several years now and have found many ways to cut costs on my dancewear. I thought I'd make a list of how I do that for you guys, if you are interested. Ballet takes a lot of commitment already without the price of dance clothes, so why pay more than you have to?

Pointe Shoes:

After I've been fitted, the second or third pair I buy online from either of these sources:

Ebay

Discount Dance Supplies

I make sure I buy the right size that I was prescribed at my fitting. I don't recommend guessing what size you need in pointe shoes, as most ebay stores do not offer refunds on their pointe shoes.

For several years, I bought Bloch Aspirations for $23 a pair on these websites. Some shoes run a little more pricey but still at least two thirds the cost of a walk-in boutique store.

Every once in a while, go back and get fitted again to make sure you are using the right type of shoe. Most dance stores now require a $15 fitting fee, if you are not going to buy shoes from them.

Technique Shoes:

I nearly always buy my flat shoes on ebay now. There are several sellers who will have a price chart posted with their shoes, you measure the length of your foot in centimeters and it tells you what size you need. I have always gotten a perfect fit, and paid $8 a pair.

Leotards, tights, warm-ups, ect.:

I get all these from the thrift store. I can usually find a full outfit for class, for less than ten dollars. For those of you who are picky about wearing used clothing: the thrift store usually has a few new items, especially tights. New tights however, will cost you a little more- a whopping $2 :innocent: