Ballet Talk for Dancers

Carlos Acosta

Hey guys I'm new to the blog, and I wanted to talk about one of my favorite dancers, Carlos Acosta. He has the most amazing jumps I've ever seen, better than Baryshnikov. His Baloune (exuse me if i misspelled), is the one of the best out there. I'm so jealous.... I saw him do 10 pirrouets, to tripple toure, to the knee. My teacher who danced with Carlos as a principal at Houston Ballet might bring him into my school! I'm so exited! I just wanted to write this asking you guys to check Carlos out on Youtube. You will see why I like him so much. :thumbsup:

Edited by Dasa

Yep! You'll find a lot of people here who agree with that premise. And if you have terminology spelling problems, this is a good place to practice. Don't worry, you don't get marked on spelling here unless it's truly indecipherable, and about the only way really to learn a word is to use it! We'll advise you on the right way to spell things. The quality of floating in jumps is called "ballon", turns done on one leg are called "pirouettes", and if they're on two legs or NO legs, as in en l'air, they're "tours". "Triple" only has one "p" in it.

We're a discussion group here, but if you wanted to blog, our sister site Ballet Talk, which is intended for audiences, has a blog function, but you have to sign up there separately from this board. You have to be at least 16 to be a member there; here it's 13. "Dasa" is pretty distinctive, so I doubt that name is taken there.

Welcome to the club! :thumbsup:

Welcome, Dasa! Perhaps you know of this book since you are already a big fan of Acosta, but in case you don't, I'll mention it. It's called No Way Home: A Dancer's Journey from the Streets of Havana to the Stage of the World. I confess that I've not read it myself, but the few pages I've seen online at Amazon look very interesting and I hope to read it sometime soon.

Hope you do get a chance to see him at your school!