Ballet Talk for Dancers

Shoes for Beginners

Ms. Pris

Hello everyone, I am an adult dancer returning to ballet after a long absence. I started ballet at age 2, and quit around age 10. Along the way I did jazz, tap, and Middle Eastern dance, so I wasn't entirely cut off from dance, just from ballet.

I had to give dance up about 10 years ago due to a series of foot and ankle injuries. But now I am returning to ballet, for fitness reasons. I am starting slow with exercises and stretching: my main goal is to build strength in my feet and ankles, and then the rest of my body.

Right now the issue is that I need shoes. I've decided to go with a leather, full-sole shoe for the purposes of strengthening my feet. I have a good point but I do have severe collapsing arch problems (I wear wraps on my feet to give extra support to my arches during dance time, but I hope that this work will strengthen my arch also.)

Since I am a beginner doing this for fitness, I am looking for a basic beginner shoe. I am probably going to go with a basic, inexpensive slipper. I am looking at Capezio slippers and I really can't tell, exactly, what's the difference between the Daisy and the Technik. Do you know? There are obvious differences in the silhouette of each shoe, but I don't know what those differences DO or MEAN.

I appreciate any help you can give me!

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, Ms. Pris!!!

Congratulations on your return to ballet!! Quite honestly, you would be fine with either. Both are full sole though, and you may see many people in your classes with split-soles. I believe the Teknik has a slightly stronger leather outsole than the Daisy. We'll see what others have to offer!