Ballet Talk for Dancers

help with hands!

keguri

I studied ballet as an adult for about 6 years, and recently came back to it after a 4 year hiatus. I started with the absolute beginner class, since I am not in the best shape anymore and didn't want to push myself to hard. In one class, anyway, the teacher's corrections are almost exclusively restricted to my hands and arms. Somehow I find the hand position extremely difficult to grasp. Does the hand change shape through the movements of the arms. Do different schools of training hold the hands differently (my first class was Cacchetti, but this is Vaganova? Is the hand position different for men and women? (I'm male) Part of the problem, I think, is that my upper body has a lot of tension in it.

I have particular difficulty because I can't actually communicate with my teacher (I'm taking the class in Korea)!

Welcome keguri to Ballet Talk for Dancers. Please a take moment to visit the Welcome Forum to introduce yourself and tell us a bit about yourself.