Ballet Talk for Dancers

Beginners' classes in London

Ella77

Hi all. Just to let you know, I have done a search and read a lot of posts, but many of them seem to be from a few years ago, so I was hoping for some more up to date views. I hope that's ok!

Basically, I can get to RAD Battersea or Morley College fairly easily and their timetables are both fine for me, but I don't know which is 'best'. Obviously this is subjective and I'm sure they're both very good schools, but if I were looking for scheduled courses (not drop-in classes), with an emphasis on good technique, would one or the other suit me more? Can anybody here advise please?

Thanks

Have you had previous dance experience or are you an absolute beginner? If the latter from what I can see from their class schedule, you might be better off starting with the Morley College classes, which are aimed at adult beginners. I actually wasn't aware that the RAD has adult beginner classes. I always thought that they are all about teaching their syllabus classes to children or older students with ballet training. Correct me if I'm wrong!

• Administrators

It's okay, CoventGarden, and thank you for the information. :thumbsup:

Ella, we cannot tell you which is "best", but now that we know both schools have adult beginning classes, we can advise you to visit both of them. Meet the director or the adult class teacher, and watch a class. You should get a good idea from that which school would suit you the best. :)

I don't study dance in London, but over the years many who have started as adult beginners have recommended Morley College on this board. But as Ms Leigh says, observe a class, or do a trial class at each studio. Or do both?

I think you could probably ask to do a trial class -- most studios understand that.