Ballet Talk for Dancers

Horseback riding and Ballet

mandabailey

I am a professional horse trainer and spend a considerable amount of time every day in the saddle. (0ver 20 hours a week minimum). I have been doing this for years now. I am 35. I am in my third year of ballet. Despite regular stretching, I remain fairly tight in my hips and struggle to get decent turnout. I have had a few people tell me that riding develops the wrong muscles for ballet. I'm wondering if anybody knows this to be true, or is it just a myth. Has anybody here successfully done both?

It's true to a considerable extent, and since you've probably been a trainer much longer than you've been studying ballet, there's a lot of stretch to make up. Equitation builds the adductor muscles in the legs and reinforces turn-IN. Gelsey Kirkland always enjoyed riding, but from the start, she knew that she had to limit her activity there.

All physical training is specific, an iron rule when it comes to any type of physical activity. In part, what that means is that you develop motor pathways and muscles you use in doing that specific activity. Consequently any activity that is not the “major” activity will not have optimally developed muscles and motor pathways for the secondary activity. In that sense you can say that horseback riding develops the “wrong” muscles for ballet.

But in that same sense you can argue that simple walking develops the wrong muscles for ballet. Should serious ballet dancers be confined to wheelchairs when not dancing? The more relevant question is so what?

Having a secondary activity has many advantages. It gives the mind something new to think about. If you do it with others, there is a social benefit. It can be a method of cross-training (which is in essence developing the wrong muscles for the primary activity), for which the conventional wisdom says reduces the chance of injury.