Ballet Talk for Dancers

College Issues for Male Dancers

mumsie

I'm new to BT4D, so here goes...

My DS is a high school senior and is interested in pursuing a career as a ballet dancer. I, and more importantly, his teachers believe he has the training and capability to do so. His teachers have advised that, in addition to auditioning for companies, he should have a "backup plan" and pursue college enrollment. I have found the BT4D Colleges and Universities information to be extremely helpful. Thanks to all who have posted!

My questions (so far) are:

1) Even though he might have a better shot at scholarship help, should he avoid schools where he would be one of a very small number of male dancers when compared to the number of ladies in the pas classes? He is in that situation now, but I am comfortable with it because his teachers are very cognizant of the potential for overwork and injury, especially when he's working with those who have had little to no pas experience.

2) Can/should I expect that the college instructors will be equally vigilant?

3) What about the impact of being a "party of one" or a small group on the amount of class/rehearsal time?

4) Any suggestions about questions to ask that would give insight on these issues?

5) How important for a male dancer is it that there be male ballet faculty?

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, mumsie!!!!!

He's still got a few months to make decisions, right? I want to point out a 3rd option which would be that some companies will only offer Trainee positions or that type of thing (Second Companies etc.) which will likely not be enough for him to live on for the year or 2 that these positions are usually held prior to being offered a full company contract.

He may want to take some time to bone up on some skills that he can use outside the classroom, like the kind of skills that Temp agencies need. Food service is a big area for these kids as is PC work (data entry, etc.).

As far as college goes: