Ballet Talk for Dancers

Almost in tears!

rlyons

Hi there,

I am a returning adult ballet student. I did ballet for a few years from about the ages of 9 or so 'till I was maybe 12. Having returned to classes, I am realizing that I did not get that far....I was very graceful and got the lead in shows but I was always AWFUL at remembering or "getting" my steps. I don't have the best coordination in the world and though I am a clever person ( I like to think so anyhow) and a talented painter, I feel stupid in my ballet class. I thought I was getting better; my pirouettes are improving, I am understanding things that I didn't at first after about 2 months of classes three times a week now, but I had an awful time last week at my class. We had a different teacher than usual and I found her pace, especially in the floor exercises to be too fast for me. The thing is that, though I am no kid, I am at the younger end of things in the class and definitely fitter than most ( I hike every day) and everyone else seemed to keep up just fine. I just couldn't seem to get the turns we were doing across the floor and I feel like an idiot...I said that I would rather just sit that step series out, but the teacher insisted I try and she danced with me accross the floor, making me feel more idiotic.

I like to be good at things in my life but I am feeling that I am not so at my ballet class, though I know that the goal is just fitness and enjoyment, I want so much to be good. I understand that many of the other women in the class may have pursued ballet for much longer periods than I in the past, but I feel that I should be improving faster. In a class of about 10 women (on average) I am also one of the few who can't yet do the splits.

I think that my body and movements are very nice ( I receive compliments on these), my feet are supposedly beautiful and my posture is better than most...but I am the idiot of the class when it comes to my steps!