Ballet Talk for Dancers

Adult Ballet Classes - England

poogleypie

Hello, I'm new to this board and this is my first post, so I apologize if I am duplicating a previous discussion. I could not find anything when I searched.

I am an Adult Beginner looking for a central London based class. I have narrowed it down to the Royal Academy of Dance and the English National Ballet. They both seem well-respected and they are both about the same distance for me to travel (perhaps ENB is a bit more convenient).

I was wondering whether anyone has experience of either or both and would be willing to share their thoughts?

I studied ballet as child off and on but that has been many years ago, so I would need to start over at the very beginning.

Thanks in advance for any comments or advice.

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, poogleypie!!!

I'm sure our UK-based adult ballet students will be of help!

Meanwhile, try these threads:

Classes in London

Beginner's classes in London

Welcome to BT4D, poogleypie.

We don't tend to do comparisons here - because criteria for each person will be different. So as Clara suggests, have a look at some of the threads in the Adult Students section of the message board. There are several posters who do classes at one or the other studio -- both offer excellent teaching. For London, it's often about transport and schedules -- I know those are my criteria if I'm in London & want to do a class.

Thanks Clara and Redbookish! I read some of the other threads which were very helpful, but I would love to hear more from anyone who has taken adult courses at RAD or ENB. My main concern would be ending up in a beginner's class which is too advanced - I want to start over at the very beginning because it has been many years (too many to say :yes: