Ballet Talk for Dancers

Persistent calf problem

katielovesballet

This isn't a very painful problem but it just won't stop coming back, so I'm hoping someone here can help! I'm a 20-year-old beginner doing (or trying to do) two or three classes a week, not on pointe.

In November I pulled both of my calf muscles, I guess from stretching them too much (teacher encouraged me to stretch them more than normal) and walking a lot. It hurt to plie or stretch them and they cramped if I held demi-pointe for very long. Continuing to do class made it worse to the point where I couldn't straighten my leg all the way or walk normally for a couple days.

So I keep taking time off from ballet class until they stop hurting, massaging and being very careful about stretching and not doing much releve or jumping at first when I go back to ballet, and eventually something pops up to make the problem return (trying a pre-pointe class or trying to do yoga, etc). Most recently I came back to the country where I have to walk a lot, had a few weeks off of ballet while I was getting settled, and after ballet class on Thursday it hurts again to plie or flex my ankle. I don't really feel anything in the Achilles tendons, just the calves. And sometimes one or the other leg is worse, but it's never only in one leg.

Since the first time it hasn't been painful enough to restrict anything but ballet, which along with being in a foreign country makes me reluctant to go to a doctor. But I'd obviously rather not keep going with the one-class-then-two-weeks-off schedule. Is there anything I can do, anything specific I should be doing to warm up or during/after class?

Thanks in advance! :)

I suspect this may be more technique-related. Is it ok to move this post so we can discuss it further, or would you like a medical response first?

Ok!

So, let's start with the usual suspects when calves start acting up:

Tight hamstrings

Tight psoas- I know, right?

Weight too far foward or too far backwards