Ballet Talk for Dancers

what's the oldest that boys can realistically begin ballet?

clueless

Hi all,

Newbie here.

My 6 y/o DS was born dancing, so I thought taking him for classes was a no-brainer. But wrong. He's tried a few different classes and didn't like any of them. He was the only boy in each - which didn't bother him in the least. But he hated that the little girls were all focused on their hair and pink outfits and didn't seem interested in the actual dancing. :( And being a better natural dancer than the girls probably didn't help him make friends.

He's done some gymnastics but has quit (again) because it's just not dancing. He's rejected martial arts completely.

The older girls at the dancing schools are less over-the-top pink so I think he'd feel more comfortable by that age/stage. But I wonder if he doesn't start until he's say 10 or so if he'll still be able to become a dancer if that's still what he wants??

Thanks all.

Definitely wait until you can find the correct environment for him. :) I'd hate to see him turned away from ballet because of the early childhood "girl culture". :(

If he has the body waiting until he is around 9 or 10 will not hurt him. Meanwhile, research! Find the best possible school your family can afford and hopefully, it's one that does offer "Men's" classes at some point. It's necessary for their development that they begin classes with other boys as soon as possible, once they begin formal ballet training- creative movement doesn't count. They should also be taking classes with girls at the same time, but those males-only classes are really important.

Miss Persistent

Clara 76 is right on the money!

While it's not the norm, I have seen a boy start at 15 and get into a company feeder school. I would not be worried at all about getting a boy of 9,10,11 or even 12 into my class as a new student if he has good facility.