Ballet Talk for Dancers

Making the transition back into ballet

La_Bailarina

I guess I belong over here now! So hi everyone!

I graduated from undergrad this past May with a double major in dance and biology. By second semester senior year, I really started moving away from dance for a variety of reasons. Injuries, both old and new, were starting to catch up with me; I spending more and more time in the lab trying to finish my honors thesis for bio; and I was just straight up burnt out and done with dealing with the inevitable drama. I'm now working in a biology lab and am getting geared up to start applying to MD/PhD programs late this spring.

By the time graduation rolled around, I was ready to take my last ballet class and never set foot in a dance studio again. My heart really just wasn't in it anymore. Over the summer, I started taking class every now and again--probably two or three times a week. Then I started working on a new project at work and any free time I had quickly disappeared...and my attendance in class dwindled to maybe once every two weeks. I just finished up doing a few shows of Nutcracker with a local company and it's really made me miss dance in a way I didn't think I still could. I need to get back into class on a regular basis--I'm realizing I miss it far too much.

How do you guys balance it all? I've been working about 50 hours/week, taking a course, and rehearsing--doesn't leave much time to get to open classes. And I'm scared--I know that I've gone backwards technically since graduation.