Ballet Talk for Dancers

Career Troubles

thermac

I'm currently 23 years old (soon to be 24) and have been dancing for 17 years. I graduated from a small professional ballet school in July 2011. After graduation, I began dancing with the professional company associated with the school. The company is very small, only 5 female dancers; and there aren't any company level classes, the company takes classes with the highest level of the school (advanced beginner/intermediate). For the past year and a half I have been taking classes with the school and feel as though my technique has suffered. Although I have been able to fine tune finer points while taking the less advanced classes, I haven't done grand allegros, fouette turns, etc. for a year and a half. Since the company is so small, there hasn't been many opportunities to perform.

I have auditioned for other companies with no luck. Now, I have mostly auditioned for summer intensives, trainee programs, and apprentice programs (since I'm no longer at the technical level I once was). Yet I'm still not getting accepted into any of these programs.

I feel like giving up. I love ballet. My dream has always been to dance professionally. I work hard; and although I may not have perfect turnout or super high extension, I know I am not a bad dancer. I just don't know what to do. Should I just stay at the company I'm in and rarely get to preform? I know that I'm a lot older than most dancers companies are considering.

Is there still hope for me?