Ballet Talk for Dancers
Thyme

comparing boys and girls

Thyme

Hi- I am new to all this and would really appreciate someone to explain to me the ballet world's view on raising a male dancer vs a female dancer. I read many comments that boys 'have longer to decide' about their career and longer to 'get serious'. Why is this? I have thought it is because they mature emotionally later than girls or is it something to do with the perceived increased competition amongst girls (more female dancers to compete for parts and jobs)? But these are only guesses. As the mother of a 13yo DB I would be really interested to hear your thoughts and experiences on this. :flowers:

Pierrette

Perceived increased competition?! Female dancers are a dime-a-dozen - virtually expendable - while male dancers are a precious commodity, to be groomed, nurtured and coddled. The doors to the dance world stand wide open for guys: scholarships for training and college educations, higher weekly pay despite less training, and frequently having choices of which contract to accept - which causes male dancers to bail on their contracts at the drop of a hat if they get a better offer somewhere else.

My daughter is a professional jazz/ musical theatre dancer. Most of her New York auditions will have separate male and female dancer calls, but she's been to enough where guys were present. Of these, some might have been posted as a female dancer call, but the guys showed up because they had other auditions at the same time as the male dancer call. "NO PROBLEM! Come right in! Happy to have you!" Then while the girls have to pick up the choreography at the drop of the hat, the guys are given extra time and coaching to get it while the girls stand around. Then on the job, my daughter frequently has had to coach better paid guys in partnering technique - and has sustained significant injuries from their blunders. But this is the reality of the dance world, and my daughter simply accepts it.