Ballet Talk for Dancers
Our Thanks and Gratitude to Everyone Who Has Contributed to Our 2020 Fundraiser <3 <3 <3
Sign in to follow this  
JoshuaThomas86

What is Intermediate Ballet skill?

JoshuaThomas86

I'm a 26 year old guy who just recently had his first adult beginners class. I really enjoyed it and was even told my body is really well built for Ballet and that my positions were advanced for someone who has never even tried Ballet. However, the classes are only every Monday and I find that I really want to attend more often. The school has Intermediate classes 4 days a week, so I'm really curious how difficult it would be to practice enough to get to this skill level.

Any information regarding Intermediate Ballet would be really appreciated!

Hans

It depends a good deal on how often you take class--generally, the more classes you take, the faster you progress, although of course it depends on other factors as well. One class a week is not bad for a total beginner, but if you are able to supplement with another class or two at a different school, that would most likely help you make faster progress. At 3 90-minute classes per week with good training, it might take 3-5 years to reach a true intermediate level, although many adult classes labeled "intermediate" are really somewhat below that.

LaFilleSylphide

I always find the word "intermediate" to be really ambiguous. I've been to many adult classes that are labelled intermediate and have either been struggling or found the class to be a lot slower than I expected. I feel like I can never really tell. When I know I will be frequenting a school, I usually will visit the class first just to watch, so that when I take it the next time, I know what to expect from myself, the students, and the teacher. I'm always in the situation where intermediate = who knows!