Ballet Talk for Dancers

Boston Ballet School for a 12 year old

Hi Everyone,

I'm a fairly new member looking for advice and experiential anecdotes. My daughter turned 12 in July and is feeling more serious than ever about wanting to have a shot at a dance career. We live in central NH and she has been dancing at different area schools since she was four. I'm no expert but I believe her training thus far has been pretty good. Am I correct in thinking that she's at the age where we need to up the ante? I spoke with a very helpful person at Boston Ballet and my daughter is now signed up to take a placement class next week in the Intermediate II level. After this level, a select number are chosen for the "Pre-Professional" track. Others continue on in their classical classes.

Switching to Boston would be a huge thing for us. It is a 1 and a 1/2 hour drive each way and it would be 4-6 days a week. The other option is Walnut Hill's Community Dance Program. She loved the placement class there last week but I have since gotten mixed reviews on the school, from people who I generally trust and who don't have a personal gripe against the place. WH is pretty affordable if you're not a high school student. But can anything in my area compare to the training and advantages BB has to offer? I guess I'm looking to see if there's a consensus that this would definitely be worth the effort at this point in my daughter's dance life.

Thank-you very much!

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Victoria Leigh

• dancemaven

• dustbunny

• Sayaggy

Sayaggy, Welcome to BT4D! We are glad you found us and look forward to getting to know you and have you join in our myriad discussions.