Ballet Talk for Dancers

Number of teachers

I would be grateful for members input on the pros and cons of being taught by just one ballet teacher in comparison with 4-5 ballet teachers. This is in the context of a Pre-professional environment of 20+ hours per week for a 15yr old. My impression is that the quality of teaching is very good to excellent for all the teachers. Thank you.

• Administrators

Different teachers at that level are okay, although 4 to 5 different ones might be a bit much. I am a part time teacher at two schools, and I have one group twice a week at each school, but the other group at each school I only have once a week. I would prefer to have each group twice. With younger students it's more important to have just one teacher, at least for the first two or three years. When they get to more than two classes per week, two teachers should be okay. But all of this depends a great deal on the teachers being on the same page, and the quality being consistent. I do find that I can make a lot more difference with the students I have twice a week, as I can repeat my class with them, and find that more is accomplished that way.

Thank you Miss Leigh. Are there any advantages (or disadvantages) in having just one teacher? DD said she likes just having one teacher as then she doesn't get conflicting or different instructions or corrections! DD is around RAD Advanced 1 level but needs to improve her strength (as I understand it).